WTIA Qualification and Certification Board
IIW Authorised National Body (ANB) for Personnel Qualification and Certification, and Company Certification (ANBCC)

IIW Certified International Welding Specialist (CIWS)

AS/NZS ISO 3834:2008 and ISO 3834:2005 ‘Quality requirements for fusion welding of metallic materials’ define the requirements for Welding Coordination Personnel in paragraph 7.3 of Parts 2 and 3.

ISO 3834 states that “The manufacturer shall have at his disposal appropriate welding coordination personnel. Such persons having responsibility for quality activities shall have sufficient authority to enable any necessary action to be taken. The tasks and responsibilities of such persons shall be clearly defined.

The IWS has a specific role to play as a RWC at the basic technical knowledge level.

The IWS qualification is offered by the WTIA through the IIW programme and the IIW CIWS through a certification programme maintained by the WTIA.

Qualification:   Certification:
International Welding Specialist (IWS)   IIW Certified International Welding Specialist (CIWS)
Job Title: Responsible Welding Coordinator (RWC) - Basic technical knowledge based on AS/NZS ISO 3834:2008
Qualification and Certification: IIW International Welding Specialist (IWS) and IIW Certified IWS (CIWS) including AS 1796 Certificate No. 10 and/or AS 2214 Welding Supervisor (where appropriate)

Job Description:

For further information, please contact:

Anabel Cantero

Q & C Coordinator 

Tel: 02 8748 0170

Email:  a.cantero@wtia.com.au